Thailand Orders Mandatory Quarantine from 6 Countries

6th Mar 2020

Suvarnabhumi Outside

The government of Thailand has imposed a compulsory quarantine on all arrivals from six virus-stricken countries as part of its measures to prevent the coronavirus from spreading.

In an announcement posted in the Royal Gazette on Thursday, the government said all arrivals from “dangerous communicable disease areas” such as South Korea, China, Macau, Hong Kong, Iran, and Italy will undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine effective on March 6, Friday.

Even passengers transiting to any of the said countries will be required to declare their address and travel plans.

“Thais and foreigners who came from these places will have to go through self-quarantine for 14 days at home or in a hotel room, where they have to report themselves to the authorities every day or officials will come to check on them,” Reuters quoted Health Ministry Spokesman Rungrueng Kitphati as saying. The government is also in preparations for the quarantine facility for the Thai workers gradually repatriating from Daegu and Gyeongsang in South Korea – the epicenter of the virus outbreak. Since January this year, Thailand has so far recorded 47 coronavirus cases, 15 of which are still being treated in hospitals while another 1 has died.

Arriving passengers who will show symptoms of the virus will be compulsorily sent to government hospitals for treatment. Kitphati said those who fail to comply with the order will face a penalty of 20,000 baht.

Meanwhile, Thailand also ordered the disinfection of offshore packages at Suvarnabhumi airport, Lak Si post offices, and express mail and delivery trucks despite no confirmed reports that packages can contract the virus. “People receiving packages from China are not at risk of contracting the new coronavirus. From the previous analysis, we know coronaviruses do not survive long on objects, such as letters or packages,” said the World Health Organization.